Hitting a Milestone

Where I've been spending a lot of my time lately.

Where I’ve been spending a lot of my time lately.

I’ve been pretty open with my immediate networks, as well as with Instagram friends, that I have very unofficially been training for my first sprint triathlon.*

A sprint triathlon is a 750-meter (0.47-mile) swim, a 20-kilometer (12-mile) bike ride, and a 5-kilometer (3.1-mile) run, consecutively.

The running part hasn’t really worried me, since I run fairly regularly and have completed a decent number of races in past years. Also, I don’t actually own a bike yet; but I figure it’s ok if biking comes last. It’s the swimming portion that I have been diligently trying to improve over the past year or so. If you know me, swimming has never come easy to me. Like, in the past, I have been truly awful at, and at times completely terrified of, swimming. When I began to semi-seriously work on my swimming skills during the summer of last year, I could barely clear a single lap across a standard lap pool (23 meters, or ~25 yards/75 feet) without feeling like my lungs were going to burst.

Today, I swam 34 laps in a row without stopping. For the first time ever. That’s 782 meters. Or 0.486 miles. The swimming portion of the tri.

I’m feeling pretty awesome about it. And truthfully, there’s a lot in my life right now that I’m feeling pretty awesome about. I want to share more about what’s been going on lately, and I hope to soon. Stay tuned, loyal readers! (*crickets*)

*Note: I have not yet signed up for an actual sprint triathlon. I’ve actually been waiting out on doing so until I hit 34 laps in a row. Looks like I have some research to do! :)

Leave a Reply

