Mindy Kaling knows exactly how I feel about Vince Guaraldi

“If I ever get cast in some Changeling-type movie where I need to cry instantly because my child was murdered, I will make sure to have Vince Guaraldi’s A Charlie Brown Christmas album ready to go into my trailer. The children’s voices and connections to the Peanuts from my childhood are just the beginning. (I always identified with Peppermint Patty, in case you were wondering–the loud, opinionated man-girl who chased around her crush without fully knowing she liked him.) The music is gorgeous, but even the upbeat arrangements are tinged with something sad, like Joni Mitchell’s Blue .”

– Mindy Kaling–an excerpt from the subchapter, “Non-Traumatic Things That Have Made Me Cry” in Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns), 2011

Mike and I were listening to Christmastime is Here in the car the other day when he said, “We’re gonna be REAL tired of this song by the end of the holidays.” But I begged to differ. I LOVE Vince Guaraldi’s A Charlie Brown Christmas. It is probably one of my most favorite things. And I realized, with the help of Mandy Kaling, that there is something about that underlying sadness to the score that just gets to me… that drawn-out, heart-wrenching jazz that I can’t get enough of. Add in the nostalgic factor of the music and the show (my mom’s been a huge Peanut nut since her childhood, too), and I’m one sappy camper–though I’m more Linus than Peppermint Patty, since I’m 27 and still have a blankie. I look forward to playing the classic every Christmas, though I could proooobably listen to it year-round without getting sick of it. But if I did, my partner (and others) would probably kill me.

Love love love A Charlie Brown Christmas Special. Photo from tvguide.com.

One of my original faves from the soundtrack:

And since I’m quoting it, if you’re looking for some light and entertaining holiday reading, I zipped through Mindy Kaling’s book during my short Thanksgiving break in NYC. A few public LOLs deemed it a worthwhile $14 impulse buy at LAX. Subchapter titles include: Don’t Peak in High School, Karaoke Etiquette (of COURSE this book is for me), “Hooking Up” Is Confusing, and Revenge Fantasies While Jogging (two for two).

Mindy Kaling as Kelly Kapoor karaokes a love song to B.J. Novak as Ryan Howard on "A Benihana Christmas," one of my fave episodes from The Office (Season 3, yeah boyeee). Photo from fuckyeahmindy.tumblr.com.

Mindy Kaling as Kelly Kapoor karaokes a love song to B.J. Novak as Ryan Howard on “A Benihana Christmas,” one of my fave episodes from The Office (Season 3, yeah boyeee). Photo from fuckyeahmindy.tumblr.com.

Oh and I just found a hilarious deleted scene from the abovementioned episode. Hahaha:

2 thoughts on “Mindy Kaling knows exactly how I feel about Vince Guaraldi

  1. kate,

    i always look forward to peanuts, and agree with your post. a sense of melancholy, a sense of loss in a way, letting go of the childhood gone past. nostalgic for me, but also very real, that things will never be the same too. adulthood…

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

