The problem with being a perfectionist

The problem with being a perfectionist is that I never get anything done. Well, scratch that, I get things done, but they tend to take me 2-100x longer than the normal person because I’m never satisfied with being “done” until whatever it is I’m working on is the best that I know I can possibly get it. There are of benefits of being the type of person who always tries to put her best foot forward, but honestly? It’s just kind of exhausting. For example, I was trying to write a Yelp review the other day while I was at my sister’s place (she is also a Yelper), and probably what was more or less an hour later, she comes by and is like, “How many Yelp reviews are you writing???” I smiled sheepishly. “Uhh, just one. Not quite done.” And you know what? It’s still not done… because I have to get it just right before I hit the publish button! In the mean time, I could have written like 5 more reviews if I didn’t care so much about getting it just right. But that’s the thing about me… it’s so hard for me to present something that isn’t my *best* work, even if it’s something that seems as frivolous as a Yelp review. To give another example, I always blame lack of time for not updating the blog as much as I’d like, but really, it’s probably more about my perfectionism. And don’t even get me started on the ridiculous amounts of time, exercise, sleep, and sanity I’m willing to forgo just to turn in a 10-page paper for school. It’s sad, my relationships and mental health have suffered because of it, and I don’t like it!!! So. This might be a fleeting goal, but I’m really gonna try harder to post shorter, less thought-out updates from now on, so that I’m mulling over an update less, and publishing more. This also means I’m gonna force myself to spend way less time writing, editing, and quadruple-editing before I send my thoughts out into cyberspace. I’m not sure if this is going to work or not, but we’ll see.

Here’s to living in the moment!! And finishing THIS post in 10 minutes flat =).

Oh fine, I’ll admit to the 4 additional minutes I just spent proofreading/editing it. I’ll work on that… :-/.

Leave a Reply

