The Seawall

I’ve got nostalgic pavements, I’ve got familiar faces. I’ve got mixed up memories, and I’ve got favorite places.
– Kate Nash

It may not look like much in this early summer morning photo I took last week, but for the past year and a half, this has been my favorite spot in the entire world.

I wandered partway down it the day I moved into my apartment, not sure how far I should go, wondering what the other JETs would be like at my block welcome dinner later that evening.

I ran as fast as I could from one side to the other and back on a rainy afternoon, inflicting hurt on the outside, trying to make the hurt on the inside go away.

I’ve seen it in all seasons, sat on it eating pre-made seafood salad from Marudai at sunset, done pre- and post-run stretches on it in the dark more times than I can count, and occasionally used it to try to meditate on (and learned I just kind of suck at meditation). Here, I listened to a drunken explanation of boats docked in the distance and was later persuaded to run back to my place with no clothes on with you, used to be better about entertaining the idea of a running buddy the handful of times I worked out with you, had an important Saturday morning conversation that I have since grown so much from with you, and shared a long walk back home one fateful Friday evening that sealed the deal for falling in love with you. I can’t fathom never setting foot here again, or the idea of the road separating it from the alley leading to my soon-to-be-no-longer residence becoming a main thoroughfare.

But these futures are inevitable. As are the discovery of new favorite places.

There are places I remember all my life, though some have changed. Some forever, not for better, some have gone, and some remain. All these places have their moments, with lovers and friends I still can recall. Some are dead and some are living, but in my life, I’ve loved them all.
– The Beatles

One thought on “The Seawall

Leave a Reply

