Blood Types

Whereas [some] people in the States are really into horoscopes and zodiac signs, here in Japan it’s all about the blood type… possibly to an even greater degree.. “What is your blood type?” is not necessarily asked as a cheesy pickup line, but more as an attempt to place you neatly under one of four personality types. Japanese people swear by the legitimacy of these personas.  And, I hate to say it, but as far as the people whose blood types I know, I kind of have to agree… they’re usually pretty spot-on!

Here’s Wikipedia’s chart summarizing the four personalities by blood type:

Type A
Best traits Earnest, creative, sensible, reserved, patient, responsible
Worst traits Fastidious, overearnest, stubborn, tense
Type B
Best traits Wild, active, doer, creative, passionate, strong
Worst traits Selfish, irresponsible, unforgiving, unpredictable
Type AB
Best traits Cool, controlled, rational, sociable, adaptable
Worst traits Critical, indecisive, forgetful, irresponsible, “split personality”
Type O
Best traits Agreeable, sociable, optimistic
Worst traits Vain, rude, jealous, arrogant

When I’m asked the question at hand and tell people here that I actually don’t know, their jaws drop. How could you not know your blood type? What if you’re an in an accident and need blood right away??? Hmmm, guess you got a point there, dude!

Anyway, the reason why I bring up this whole blood type thing is that at the end of my meeting with the manager of Moon Terrace today to discuss last minute details, she was all, “You’re so organized! What’s your blood type?” I told her I actually didn’t know, and she gushed that I must be Type A. If you were to ask me, I think the better guess is AB, since in SOME aspects of my life I appear to be and sometimes really am super on top of things… but in others, I’m kind of strange and in my own world.

However, I was ALSO told the other night by a good friend, and I quote:

Kate, don’t ever get married.

True, the context was that I was being kind of a hula nazi that evening, haranguing all my friends who were there helping me to sew 10 more skirts for Sunday’s fundraiser and basically running around the apartment like a crazy neurotic woman. I suppose it is a little scary to picture me as Bridezilla getting ready for my wedding. I guess maybe I am Type A?

But tell me, do Type As look like THIS?

Chu-Hi, you shall soon be mine.

On my way to my friend’s White Trash Party tonight, when I should be finishing up the last skirts. Take THAT, rigid Japanese personality types!

4 thoughts on “Blood Types

  1. I think the “what would you do if you’re in an accident and need blood?” question is ridiculous. (a) if you need blood, you have probably already lost consciousness. (b) pretty sure medical professionals are not going to risk taking you on your word. (c) sorta goes with b, but [I’m guessing] they will definitely test you before infusing you with blood.

Leave a Reply

