My first apology note in Japanese…

… reads something like this (and by something, I mean exactly):

23:00

すみません。。。
ケイトです。
申し訳御座いません。
これは私のパーキングではありません。
外国人です。失礼しました。

(Notice how I get lazy in the next couple of sentences and revert to hiragana only)

けいたいでんわばんごうは***-****-9209です。
でんわください。自分の車をいどうします。

どうぞよろしくお願いします。失礼しました。

Here’s what it may or may not say in English:

11pm

Excuse me…
I’m Kate.
My apologies, there is no excuse.
(^Thanks J Sensei at http://jp.learnoutlive.com/on-excuses-and-apologies for the great idiom!)
This is not my parking.
I’m a foreigner. I’m sorry I was rude.

My cell phone number is  ***-****-9209.
Please call me. I will move my car.

I hope this goes well between us. I’m sorry I was rude.

I brought the apology to place on the windshield of the car I imagined could only belong to the pissed off person whose space I inadvertently stole, as this car was blocking mine from being able to get out of the spot. But as luck would have it, the other car was gone upon my return, leaving me free to drive away with dignity intact. Thank God.

The owner of the other car did leave this note on my windshield:

“Car here …. ” Errr… is that katakana?

If the part I can’t read says “I will key,” I guess I deserved it. But at least I got some practice writing Japanese tonight, hey?

Update: It just says “Koko ni kuruma tomeru na.” “Don’t park here.” Boring. The last part is written in katakana and not hiragana for emphasis. Still boring. But better than getting towed I suppose!

2 thoughts on “My first apology note in Japanese…

Leave a Reply

