Early birthday present

Oh Facebook. Sometimes you are just so wrong.

But I really, really appreciate all of the friends back home who jumped on the networking device to reach me and express their concern today. I’m also grateful that it made it really easy for me to tell 800 people at once that luckily Okinawa, though issued a tsunami warning this afternoon of one meter, barely felt a ripple of the beastly 8.9-magnitude earthquake off the coast of northern Japan just before 3pm today and the resulting tsunami of up to 10 meters (33 feet) that followed. Thank you everyone for checking in on me. It means a lot.

Miyagi and other prefectures in the northeast, however, weren’t so lucky. So far, 200 to 300 bodies have been found in Sendai, Miyagi Prefecture. Another 88 people have been confirmed killed, and 349 are missing (Mainichi Daily News). The news footage is some of the most terrifying imagery I’ve ever seen. I don’t personally know anyone in the area, but obviously any given number of people living here in Okinawa have friends and family up north and are directly affected by the tragedy. This may just be the most devastating natural disaster the country has ever experienced.

I suppose it It truly is a gift that I’m still alive right now. Please stay informed.

One thought on “Early birthday present

Leave a Reply

