My favorite Bollywood song ever!

At certain points throughout my life, I’ve found myself slightly obsessed with Bollywood. I still haven’t actually seen the movie that this song “Chunari Chunari” is from (Biwi No. 1 is the title of the movie… though for some odd reason I HAVE seen the sequel Biwi No. 2…), but I first heard and fell in love with it while watching another fabulous Indian art film Monsoon Wedding, directed by Mira Nair (which if you haven’t seen yet, you better add to your queue/download illegally right now!!). Not only does this cheery tune get stuck in your head like as easily as The Song That Never Ends (whoops sorry!), but also, as all of you well-acquainted with a little place known as San Francisco are bound to notice… the video was filmed in various locations in the Presidio/Marina in The City! So random… and SO AWESOME.


Why am I telling you this? Partly because I’m scrambling to think of a topic for “today’s” update (already a couple hours late, but still time-stamping as “Monday’s post”)–partly because I hopefully will be returning to Andhra Pradesh, India, this May for Golden Week! It’s been nearly six years since I spent half a summer in the same region studying Indian media at the University of Hyderabad.  This time, it’ll be to hang out with Dalits and build some houses. Kate in India, Round 2… can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

