These kids are hilarious! (/borderline sadistic?)

I got a good laugh out of today’s class exercises with the 3-nensei (9th grade). I wish I had the the actual worksheets to post pictures. Alas, you’ll just have to take my word on my Japanese students’ inherent sense of morbid creativity for the English language.

They were given pre-written conversations and had to fill in their own dialogue for the second line. Here are the best of the bunch.

Conversation #1:

Kids: What are we going to do today, Dad?
Dad: Let’s go to the hospital. I feel sick.
Kids: Sounds good!

Conversation #2:

Girl 1: What did you do this weekend?
Girl 2: I broke my arm. I went to the hospital.
Girl 1: Oh, how interesting.

And, my personal favorite–

Conversation #3:

Nurse: Ann, you don’t look so well. What happened?
Ann: I am sad. Yesterday my mom was dead.
Nurse: Oh. I’m sorry to hear that.

Although “dead” was originally misspelt as “beab.” I helped him out with that one :).

One thought on “These kids are hilarious! (/borderline sadistic?)

Leave a Reply

