Peace is Every Step

Thich Nhat Hanh, I swear I’m trying.

To put my last post into positive perspective (something I generally need to get better at doing), my main objective in traveling abroad is really to achieve a sustained sense of peace within. I am seeking freedom (+, yay!) from the enslavement (-, booo) of my relentless thought processes, which can only be found if I learn to truly appreciate the beauty and perfection of the present moment.

I hope and wish to find this mindfulness in the journey that lies ahead for me.

Perhaps I’ll find it in the sleeping pill that better knock me out for my nine-hour flight to Tokyo tomorrow morning. I hate long flights.

Then a four-hour layover in Tokyo Narita, and another three-hour flight to Naha, before arriving to the arms (although, I don’t think they do a lot of hugging in the culture) of my contracting organization!

I must admit to how scary this is. But I’m as ready as I’ll ever be.

Before I go, however, I must pay tribute to Hawaii. You, my home, are amazing. In my lowest points, I must remember to envision all the beautiful things I’ve seen in you this vacation. You hold the promise of bringing even the most temporary moment of peace to my weathered heart. I will miss you.

The stunning Ko`olau mountain range reflecting the afternoon sun… and the house I grew up in!

The rock at Waimea, devoid of jumpers due to monstrous surf on the North Shore this winter

My last Hawaiian sunset, from the top of the Koko Head Crater Trail

It is done. Now onto that country where I know not a word. Except… sayonara!

3 thoughts on “Peace is Every Step

  1. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

Leave a Reply

